Dear Negative Thoughts,

Gabie Rudytė
2 min readMar 15, 2021

Thank you.

Photo by Madeleine Kohler on Unsplash

I finally understand that the worry that you cause and the fear that you make me feel is purposeful, and it’s always been intentional. You’re trying to protect me. You’re just doing your job — and let me tell you, you’ve been doing a phenomenal job. You’re the employee of the year! I’ve never seen anyone more committed to their work than you.

We’ve spent so much time together in the last couple of years. We’ve been inseparable! We go to bed together, make breakfast together, shower together, and sit in meetings together…

Now, you can probably understand why this is difficult for me, and I’m not quite sure how I should tell you this, but…

I met someone else.

That someone is kind, fun, joyful, and so pleasant to be around. That someone is very different from what I’m usually used to, but I would like to explore this connection further and see where this could go.

That someone is called positive thoughts.

You see, dear negative thoughts… I’ve allowed you to gain a little too much power over my life. Just by spending a few minutes with you, I can start feeling such strong emotions. Fear, worry, anxiety, sadness.

You’ve taken charge of what I think, how I feel, and how I behave. I realise now that our…

--

--

Gabie Rudytė

Certified Life Coach + Creator who’s fascinated by this human experience. BSc Psychology. Exploring the depths of my inner world. www.InnerResearcher.com